About Nagoya

Nagoya is the capital and largest city of Aichi prefecture, in the Chubu region of Honshu and is one of Japan’s major ports. It is also the centre of Japan’s third largest metropolitan region, known as the Chūkyō Metropolitan Area.
The hub of the Aichi region, Nagoya is Japan’s fourth-largest city after Tokyo, Yokohama and Osaka and one of the nation’s major economic centres.

  • Tokugawa Art Museum
  • Toyota related sites
  • Nagoya Castle
  • Atsuta Shrine
  • Osu Kannon Temple
  • Sakae, Nagoya’s major downtown area


Nagoya Castle was built in 1612. Although a large part of it burned down in the fires of World War II, the castle was restored in 1959, adding some modern amenities such as elevators. The castle is very famous for two magnificent Golden Orca on the roof, often used as the symbol of Nagoya.
Atsuta Shrine is known as the second-most venerable shrine in Japan, after Ise Shrine. It is said to enshrine the Kusanagi sword, one of the three imperial regalia of Japan, but it is not on display to the public. It holds around 70 festivals in a year, and many people visit the shrine year-round. Also, the shrine has over 4,400 national treasures representing its 2,000 year history.

Practical information:

  • From Tokyo to Nagoya by Shinkansen Bullet train (366km)(1h40-2h00).
    Nagoya lies on the main Shinkansen line between Tokyo and Osaka.

Nagoya on our Google map

Our packages including Nagoya


We use cookies on this site to enhance your user experience. By continuing to use this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Cookie Policy Accept